The BSE Advisory Board is made up of individuals who are actively involved in private industry or government and have maintained close relationships with the department. They provide the feedback necessary to improve our programs and to produce high quality students to meet industry's needs. The Board members meet twice a year at Virginia Tech to receive updated information on changes in the department and share their ideas on how to improve our programs.

BSE Advisory Board
2016-2017 Advisory Board: (l-r) Bernie Engel, Mary Leigh Wolfe, Andy Southerly, Janette Wolf, Bob Hines, Mike Slusher, Mathew Lyons and Charlotte Lukas; Not pictured: Dale Lehman, Amanda Jones, Xun Liu and Kumar Mallikarjunan.

Advisory Board Members (2016-2017)

Dr. Bernie Engel

Professor and Dept. Head

Agricultural and Biological Engineering, Purdue University

Mr. Bob Hines

Sr. Automation Engineer

NNE Pharmaplan

Ms. Amanda Jones

Senior Scientist in Global Quality & Applied Sciences

Nestlé Purina North America

Mr. Dale A. Lehman, P.E., C.F.M.

Vice President


Dr. Xun Liu

Director, Downstream Process

Vaccine Research Center


National Institutes of Health

Ms. Charlotte E. Lukas

Associate Director

AZ Operations Biologics Product Strategy Lead (Global Technical Operations)

MedImmune, Inc.

Dr. Kumar Mallikarjunan


Biological Systems Engineering Deptartment, Virginia Tech

Mr. Mike Slusher, P.E.

President and Sr. Project Manager

Davis-Martin-Powell & Associates

Mr. Andy Southerly

Vice President - Supply Chain

Cargill Turkey & Cooked Meats

Ms. Janette L. Wolf, P.E.

Project Manager

Civil & Environmental Consultants, Inc

Mary Leigh Wolfe

Professor and Head, Biological Systems Engineering Department, Virginia Tech

Current NRCS Liaison is: 

Mr. Mathew Lyons, P.E.

State Conservation Engineer

USDA – Natural Resources Conservation Service